Skip to content
Browse boards & organisation

Boards & organisation1 min read

Board tabs, groups & Outliner

Organise reference collections into board tabs and groups, and use the Outliner to locate their objects.

On this page

Separate ideas into board tabs

Use File > New Board for a separate canvas. Switch between document tabs as you work; save each board to keep its contents.

Group related objects

For a compact layout, select the objects and choose Object > Quick Arrange Items or press Ctrl+Shift+A.

  1. Select the objects you want to keep together.
  2. Choose Object > Group or press Ctrl+G.
  3. Use the Outliner to locate the group and work with its members.

Find objects in the Outliner

  1. Search for an object by name in the Outliner.
  2. Select the result, return focus to the canvas and press F to frame it.
  3. Use the hierarchy to organise related objects and manage their visibility or locks.

Use parenting when you need a hierarchy

Object > Parent to Active attaches the other selected objects to the active object. Object > Clear Parent removes those parent links. Use groups when you mainly want to organise a collection together.

Use parenting when you need a hierarchy
ActionDefault shortcut
Parent to Active.Ctrl+P
Clear Parent.Ctrl+Shift+P

Licence availability

View all features